DIY Steampunk Jacket

Currently Listening To: “Freakshow” -Skillet

~

I actually got off my ass and did something. :p So, along with that, I’m going to also post some still pictures down here. I was goofing around and it’s hard to see if my back was in the camera or not…..

IMG_3319 IMG_3320 IMG_3321

(My sexy octopus is just a necklace peeking out. It’s not part of the jacket.)

I love how it came out! I want to add mechanical wings or something to the top part of the back, but I don’t know yet. I also want to replace all the buttons, I just don’t like them.

I’ve been wearing my Steampunk outfit out a lot recently. I love my jacket sooo much! There are some tiny nit-picks I have, but it was my first time doing something like this and it’s to be expected that there are somethings I’d do differently next time. (Like go find a sewing machine that actually works. Hand sewing takes ages….)

For the black stripes along the front, I used black ribbon, a 1/4 inch. I also used that same ribbon for the corseting in the back. I have no idea how long the ribbon is that I used to lace up the back. I used the eye pieces from sets of hooks and eyes. I actually took apart one of my old bras and used a couple eyes from it.

IMG_3330 IMG_3331

For the shoulders, I used bronze and dirty silver chains with gears and big jump links inserted into two of the strands. It looks really neat. There are five strands of chains in all.

IMG_3328 IMG_3329

And lastly, for the bustle, I used three different kinds of fabric. The first layer is a plain brown to match the jacket. The second is a really gorgeous dirty brown with black/green-y swirl-y patterns. And the last layer is a light brown, gold-y color with filigree patterns made into it. I added some ruffled ribbon to the top to add a little extra something, and cover my sewing.

IMG_3332 IMG_3325 IMG_3326 IMG_3327

 

This is still a work in progress. I really want to do something with the pocket, the top of the jacket in the back, and the sleeves. Plus change the buttons. But it is finished for now and I love it! 

 

What do you guys think? Do you guys have any ideas? Let me know below! 

Byee!

 

SGTC Forever,

Samm Sanity

12 thoughts on “DIY Steampunk Jacket

  1. Sissy says:

    Okay that video was the most adorable thing ever! and I especially love the chains and gears on your shoulders Cx So cute!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow did you make this outfit yourself??
    I have to admit I don’t really like the steampunk trend but this is pretty awesome all the same. I love it when others express their individuality and that is exactly what you have done!

    Brilliant.

    We will have to do a joint blog post one day on each others fashion sense. Bet that would be fun!!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Schnauzevoll says:

    awwwww everyone is right, that video is so cute ^^ and you did a great diy job there!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. JamilaJJ says:

    That looks so cool!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Gorgeous work, Samm! I adore gears and bustles. You’re right, the buttons just don’t fit the Steampunk vibe. Needs some vintage ones. 🙂 You know, the summer issue of Carpe Nocturne mag is Steampunk themed. Will be out mid July if you like looking at Steampunk fashion.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

