DIY: Lolita Top Hat

Currently Listening To: “Lollirot” -Jack Off Jill

 

I love top hats. Steampunk ones, little Lolita ones, just all of them look so cute. I’m more fond of the tiny Lolita ones and that’s what I was able to make. So, here it is! 😀   I’ve been in a tiny top hat mood lately. I don’t know why~

IMG_3425

I emptied one of my ribbon spools when I did my Steampunk jacket and I kept it because I thought it would come in handy for something. So, yesterday I thought it would be perfect for a tiny Lolita top hat. The ribbon was only 1/4 inch, so the spool isn’t that big. But I did have some really thick Halloween ribbon on a tall spool and used that instead. I just unraveled the ribbon (and placed it away in a sherbet ice cream container… those things come in handy). So now I had a perfect top hat!

 

Materials Needed: 

  • Empty ribbon spool
  • Scissors
  • Decorations (Paint/ribbon/lace/ etc….)
  • Glue
  • Hair clip(s)

1). I cut off the excess cardboard around one end of the spool (pictured below) and left the other end in tact. To form the top hat look.

IMG_3427

These are two more fairly decent sized spools I will be making into top hats and adding to my bows and stuff for sale. Any ideas for designs? Let me know below.

2). My ribbon spool had holes in the top and bottom, which I covered with duct tape. The two pictured above already had stickers and stuff over the holes, so I won’t need to fix that. c:

3.) I attached the hair clip before I painted it, just because I wasn’t sure how hot glue would stick to paint. (I added one more later because mine is a little bigger than the two pictured above and it kept falling out of my hair). 

4). I painted the whole thing black first. Then marked out every 1/2 inch around the entire hat. I then painted every other space white (I tried reeeally hard to make the lines straight ;-;). It did take two coats to look decent, but I don’t mind. I also ended up with a few stripes being smaller or larger than others, but I like the aesthetic is gives it. 

And that’s pretty much it for it. It’s really simple. c:

IMG_3422 IMG_3423

It’s perfect for my Jack Skellington Lolita skirt. ^.^  (Excuse my face…. I had just woken up and dealt with my little kitten roommates. I haven’t gotten much sleep lately…)

 

What do you guys think?  If any of you guys make one, I want to see! ^u^ Also, any ideas for my two blank hats…. leave them below ~I would really appreciate any and all ideas. 

Bye guys! I shall have another post tomorrow. c:

 

SGTC Forever,

Samm Sanity

9 thoughts on “DIY: Lolita Top Hat

  1. fiercevillain says:

    Great post and I totally adore your blog! 🙂 Good Job!
    If you have time please check out my Fashion blog http://www.fiercevillain.wordpress.com
    It would mean a lot
    Love

    Like

  2. Really awesome idea. Maybe add a veil on one top hat and feathers on the other? The black and white stripes scream circus to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Samm Sanity says:

      I love circus-y themes! I was going to add a veil to mine, as soon as I go back to the thrift store (I saw one a couple days ago, I should have grabbed it ;-;) I love the idea of veils and feathers. I have tons of lace I need to use!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Schnauzevoll says:

    that looks so cute and i really do like that the stripes are not 100% perfect, makes it look a bit older 😀 as for the others, no idea – i probably would go with one spidery, webs and one to stick on ^^

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sissy says:

    I love anything purple and lace o.o or spiderwebs

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

