DIY: Lace Shorts

Currently Listening To: “King for a Day” -Pierce the Veil

 

Remember when I said I bought two pairs of pants to cut up? Well, I finally got around to actually hemming the other pair and I ended up doing more shit to it. So, I started this last night and just finished it this morning. I think they came out pretty well. So, onto the diy!

Also, (I don’t know why I haven’t been doing this) I’m going to go through and make all my DIY posts like my make-up posts. I have no idea why I never thought of actually doing that, but I’m doing it now! Heh.. 

IMG_3506 IMG_3505 IMG_3504IMG_3500

I have no idea why that one picture is derping out on me. But just turn your devices upside down and it’ll all be okay.

Materials Needed::

  • Shorts. Or a pair of pants to cut into shorts.
  • Lace
  • Ribbon
  • Sewing supplies (needle, thread, scissors…)
  • Scissors… just to be clear.
  • Hot glue…. (I would recommend just sewing everything, but I took a small shortcut because I was tired and have difficulties sewing stiff ribbon.

 

1). (If you already have shorts, ignore this) Measure how long you want your shorts, cut them, and hem the bottom.

IMG_34982). Lay out your lace across the part you want all lace-y and pin it down (before cutting it). I used safety pins, because it allows me to move the shorts inside and out without stabbing myself or losing pins.

3). Cut a little bit bigger than the shape of your shorts, so that you can hem the lace while you sew it on. I just folded the little bit extra under itself and hemmed it while also sewing it on. (Yes, everything was hand sewn…) 

4). I did both sides of the one leg, but it really doesn’t matter what all you lace up. Personal preferences.

5). Next I took some ribbon and glued it in the small gap between the front and back lace panels. I normally would have sewn it, but I was lazy and just hot glued it down. I really hate to do that kind of shortcut, but if it doesn’t work out I can always fix it up properly.

6). To make the ribbon look nicer, I made a little ribbon bow and glued it onto the end of the ribbon.

7). Remember the detachable chains I made for the last pair? I think it would look cool to have those hanging off the bottom of these shorts. Like a chandelier. I didn’t get to photographing those, I was too lazy to get them off the other pair.

 

Ta da! They look awesome. Now laugh at my attempt to photograph these things while wearing them. ><

IMG_3501 IMG_3502 IMG_3503

Thigh high socks make everything better… (I seriously love these and my fishnet pair way too much)

 

I really like how they came out. I just hope the glue holds up to my activities. 

What do y’all think? I think I’m all DIY-ed out for now. Unless I get more ideas. But for now, nothing more. xD

Let me know what diy’s y’all have been doing lately. I may end up getting more ideas from that… Hmm. >.<

Anyway, bye guys!

 

SGTC Forever,

Samm Sanity

One thought on “DIY: Lace Shorts

Leave a Reply

