DIY: Simple Cyber Mask

Currently Listening To: “In The End” -Black Veil Brides

 

 

I have been super inspired by Cyber Goth girls lately. In my artwork and my wardrobe. I’ve been going pretty Cyber most of the summer and sometimes it’s hot as all Hades. But, I’m really drawn to that style as much as Steampunk. (My closet is a mess…. goes from Victorian to Cyber to Scene-y weenie)

So, I finally found the perfectly shaped item for this and I got it for free, so that’s even better. I had been looking forever for the right size and shape, and it happened to just land in my hands.

image_3So, materials needed::

  • Bra. I used a size 32A. I would suggest an A or possibly a B.
  • Black paint.
  • Scissors/sewing supplies.
  • Hot glue gun.
  • Two large bottle caps.
  • Studs/spikes/decoration.
  • Colored cardboard/cardstock. I had a colorful background cardboard from a bath set packaging.

image_2

 

image

 1). My bra was white, so I used black acrylic paint to paint it black. I would suggest using a bra with the shape above. I’ve found that it most resembles the mask. Also, if the straps are detachable, that’s even better. (Mine was missing the straps when I got it)

2).  I painted the bottle caps black. These two came off of a couple of 3 liter bottles of soda. They’re quite large.

 3). I traced the bottle caps on the pink cardboard and cut out the circles. I cut the circles just a little bit smaller than the caps, but not small enough that they’d fall into the cap. 

4). I glued the cardboard the the open end of the bottle cap.

5). I then added a ring of glue around the bottle cap and layered up glue around the pink cardboard edges, to create a 3d effect. (I hope I’m making sense. You’ll see in the picture.) My glue gun doesn’t have a temp adjuster thing, so as soon as it’s plugged in, it keeps heating up until you unplug it. So, my 3d effect kind of sucks because it was getting really hot and bubbles and shit started forming. Aaaand I can’t do anything evenly.

6). Glue the bottle caps to the bra. I had to re-do one bottle cap several times, I suck at lining things up xD

7). I should have done this first, before gluing the caps on, but I’m stupid. I took some neon pink thread and made visual stitching up the middle of the bra. Just for design purposes.

8). Also for designs purposes, I took some studs off of this roll of studded fabric I bought and added them all across the top of the bra. I then, last minute, painted on the pink cardboard some radioactive signs.

9). I haven’t done this yet (I don’t currently have the black elastic yet), but add elastic straps to hook it to your face. Or any kind of mechanism to attach it to your head.

image_1

 

So that’s the finished product. :3 Nothing fancy, just a simple addition to my cyber wardrobe. ^u^ I’m pleased with how it came out. I cannot wait to wear it. …Just need to get some elastic.

 

What do y’all think? Let me know! Or give me ideas on how to make it better. I don’t know. Just say hi! 

I will have another post up soon. And the not-so-dress-code-appropriate fashion show is in the works. It’s just hot as all Hades out and even though I’m wearing less clothes, it’s still so fucking hot changing in and out of them >Gaaah. 

Anyway, I’ll talk to you guys later. Byee!!

 

SGTC Forever,

Samm Sanity

3 thoughts on “DIY: Simple Cyber Mask

  1. kiara1208 says:

    Cute!! Love it! Please check out my blog share thoughts and follow

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

