DIY: Steampunk Shorts

Currently Listening To: “Mad Hatter” -Melanie Martinez

 

 I would love to post something different for you guys. Buuuut, there is jack-shit going on in my world. Sooo, DIYs it is! As I am writing this, I am working on yet another Steampunk vest. I found a gorgeous military/band style vest. It’s too big for me and always my solution for that…. corseting in the back.

image

My mom found these shorts in my favorite thrift store and I immediately thought of Steampunk when I saw them. So, they were just plain and I added everything else. (I have no idea why the picture is on it’s side xD it’s a little drunk I suppose)

image_1Materials Needed/Used:::

  • Shorts.
  • 1/4 in. Ribbon. (plus lighter to burn the ends)
  • Basic Sewing Supplies.
  • Various decorations.
  • Chains/Jump Rings/Pliers. (chain work supplies)

 

1). First thing I did was sew all the ribbon on. I measured and cut the ribbon strips a little bit longer on both ends that way I could burn the edges and hem the ribbon while sewing it down. I sewed all around the edges of the ribbon. (That took the longest)

2). For the chains, I used pre-made – I find it to be easier lately. I essentially just decided how I wanted it to hang. I sewed the chains to the shorts.

2.5). Along with the chain work, I worked gears into the chains. I just took a chunk of chain out and replaced it with the gears.

3). I added a skeleton key and the bullet charm. I have some clock face parts that I want to get made into a clock charm and attach that as well to the shorts.

 

They’re really simple and the possible designs are endless. ^.^ I hope you guys enjoyed and got some ideas of your own. 

Let me know what you think! Or if you have any ideas for the back of the shorts or the middle part in the front. I’m not sure what I should do (if anything) for those parts. Or say hi :3

Haha, bye guys and I will post again soon!

 

SGTC Forever,

Samm Sanity

2 thoughts on “DIY: Steampunk Shorts

  1. Schnauzevoll says:

    I have noooo idea on those steampunky things but i am impressed by the fact that you can make something nice from everything 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

