DIY: T-Shirt Dress

Currently Listening To: “Freaks Do It Better” -Blood on the Dance Floor

 

IMG_0068 IMG_0070

So this idea came from a few places. First being that I was extremely bored and needed something to work on. Also, I have so many boys’ shirts from my little “baby bat” days (I just call it poor bat days personally) and I still love the designs, but now the shirts eat me alive. So their only use is bed shirts. I really wanted to make use of the one giant shirt I had that has a beautiful faerie on it. 
I had just read this post not too long ago and it gave me the idea to make my faerie shirt into a dress. The post is for turning tee shirts into skirts, but I wanted to have the image on my body and showcased. I didn’t follow the post exactly, but it’s still pretty similar.

 

IMG_0048Items Needed::

  • Oversized tee shirt
  • Another shirt for the side panels
  • Some kind of sturdy fabric for straps (or whatever else you want to use as straps)
  • Basic sewing supplies
  • Trims and other decoration things (optional)

 

 

 

Since I was winging it (and the faerie shirt was being washed) I decided to practice on one of my other shirts first. I just made this one into a plain form-fitting tank top. It’s a little bit looser than I wanted, but it isn’t a big concern.

1). I started by finding a shirt that fie me pretty well and made a pattern onto the shirt (inside out). Then I used safety pins to pin the pattern, then tried on the shirt. Making adjustments to the pattern to make it more snug to my body. (My design was for the fearie shirt to be a jumperskirt style, but I made my test dummy into a regular tank top)

2). After getting everything pinned and lined up, I trim off the excess and then sew along the sides of the shirt with a straight stitch to initionally sew the pieces together. Then go along the edge with a zig-zag stitch to keep it from fraying.

IMG_0047

I sewed the fishnet straps from another shirt to this one. I added the studs as not only decoration, but also extra stability for the straps.

IMG_0050 IMG_0051

For the faerie dress. I followed the same steps (using my test dummy as a guide and adding an inch for seams), but I only sewed along the edge until I got to where about my waist would be. 

Then I cut two triangles from the plain black tee, as big as I was able to, and pinned them into the slit left unsewn on the sides. I sewed along the edges to connect the two.

(I forgot to take pictures >< Sorry) 

I them hemmed the top edge (I left the original bottom hems of the shirts) and added my straps. The straps were made from some sturdy black fabric I have. And it’s pretty much done.

IMG_0069 IMG_0071

First picture has my tutu under the dress to fluff it up. The second is the dress by itself.
The only thing I want to do is add some kind of trim to the bottom. I don’t surrently have anything that would work. So for now, it is done. c: I really love how this and my other shirt came out. ^u^ I’m excited to wear it in an outfit. I have already worn the reaper one (on the day I went to the thrift store). They both are great!

 

I’m still deciding on whether to use a lace trim or a solid fabric trim. What do you guys think? Has anyone else made any cool DIY projects lately? 
I will soon be making a velvet skirt out of a bed skirt soon. I just need to get things all situated and planned out. So yeah, look forward to that! ^u^

Anyway, bye guys. I hope to post again soon 😀

 

~Samm Sanity

7 thoughts on “DIY: T-Shirt Dress

  1. nannyguy says:

    Hi. Stumbled across your blog and want to say your sewing skills are great. That’s a really wonderful dress! I saw some of your earlier posts and you are very good at sewing and have a good eye for design.

    You seem like a genuinely sweet and interesting person and I think your blog is really cool. It’s great that you are so positive and creative. The world needs more people like you.

    Happy new year! Hope it is a great joy for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Schnauzevoll says:

    Seeing this made me giggle, wish I knew before I pushed the publish button on my post but definitely have to add it to my monthly roundup! Shirts that were turned into dresses are so much fun and yours look great!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. […] tell people about your blog? Samm Sanity did a post on Blood, Lace and Faeries showing her way of DIY shirt to dress, once more I’m happy to see all the different ways people alter clothes! Looking at the past […]

    Like

  4. Jamila Smith says:

    This is a clever idea! I wish I had your sewing skills (I can’t even operate my sewing machine TBH… D:) The dress looks like it would take me a long time to do. The Grim Reaper top is so cool and the faerie dress is beautiful. How old were you when you started to do these kinds of projects?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Samm Sanity says:

      Thank you! The dress is pretty fast going after everythig is cut out, although the side panels were a little tricky.
      I’ve always bee a crafty person. I do’t think I could remember the first time I did something like this. Earliest is probably 10 or 11 when I would use those iron-on designs and put them on my bags and pants

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

