DIY: Furry Cyber Leg Warmers

Currently Listening To: “Within You” (Labyrinth) David Bowie

 

Rest in peace you brilliant man.

I was originally going to make a post about this when I made my first pair, but I never got around to it. This is pretty simple. ^u^

 

Items Needed:

  • Furry fabric. ~My first pair was made out of a blanket I found in the thrift store. These ones were made from actual furry fabric that was, again, found in the thrift store.
  • Basic sewing supplies.
  • Elastic.

 

1). So first, measure around the thickest part of your calf. Mine was almost 14in, so I just used 14in, as the measurement. This is how big your need to make the top of the leg warmers. For the bottom measurement, it depends on how much you want it flared out. I wanted mine cut out along a pre-hemmed edge, so I was stuck with 21in as my bottom measurement. But this measurement is just personal preferance.

IMG_00722). Start with the longest measurement (bottom one) and measure that out on your fabric first. Then find the middle of the measurement (mine was 21 so the middle is 10 1/2), draw a line from that point to however long you want them (mine are 18 I believe, so I did 20) and make a mark. Now find the middle of your top measurement (mine’s 14, so 7). Line the middle measurement number with the line you drew and draw your calf measurement. I found this was the easieest way to make sure the leg warmers were evenly flared. I hope this made sense, I don’t know how to explain this.

3). Next, line some straight edge up along the end of the top and bottom lines to make a connecting diagonal line. I used my sewing measuring tape and pinned it down so it wouldn’t move while I was tracing. Do this to both sides. Cut it out. 
(The pins are there because I was cutting both out at the same time to make sure they were equal.)

IMG_0073 IMG_0074 IMG_0075

4).  Now to make a channel for the elastic. Fold the top edge over so that the channel is big enough for the elastic to fit in. Sew this. 

I knew my machine was going to be a little bitch about sewing this (I sewed my first pair by hand) so I didn’t put the foot piece down. I had to steadily sew it without the help of the foot, so obviously my stitching isn’t the straightest. But everything went much smoother that way.

IMG_0076IMG_0078

5). Fold the whole thing in half so all the edges match up and then sew along this. Avoid sewing where the elastic channel is ~ because then you obviously can’t put your elastic in xD

6). Use a safety pin to thread the elastic through the channel. Be careful not to lose the other end into the channel! Hehe I almost did. ^.^” 

7). Sew up (I hand sewed this part) the elastic and the open end of the channel. And you are done!

 

IMG_0079 IMG_0080 IMG_0081 IMG_0082

Wheee! Had to take last minute photos of my pink ones. Since I never did the post the first time, I deleted the photos. Whoops.

IMG_0101 IMG_0102 IMG_0103

I thought these black ones would be itchy on the legs, but they’re not. So I didn’t need the lining. but it probably would have helped with getting them on and off of tights. The friction makes it a slow and careful process. Heh, oh well. :3 I like how they turned out and the mass amounts of black fluff everywhere does not bug me as much as the pink did. I still have tuffs of pink fluff in my carpet and clothes. >.< At least black is a color that won’t be noticable, haha.

 

Anyway, I cannot wait until it is warmer out and there is no snow on the ground (snow is everywhere, I’m stuck inside ><) so that I can run around in my cyber gear. I have bought a pair of black ones from the Halloween section this year, but they are pretty bad. They shed everywhere and they’re not very well put together, but they were good enough to hold me over for a while. I’ll probably still wear them once in a while, but these new black ones will be my first choice. :3

Hope you guys enjoyed! I have quite a bit of black and pink fabric left, I’m not sure what to do with them, so if anyone has any ideas please let me know! I need some projects to keep me occupied since the snow has me held hostage in my bedroom. (I could go outside, but I don’t have the proper shoes or clothing, plus I hate the cold xD).  Haha, bye guys!

 

~Samm Sanity

11 thoughts on “DIY: Furry Cyber Leg Warmers

  1. Nice leg(warmers)s! I miss David Bowie so much already, such depressing news this morning… Anyway, hope all is well, take care!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Samm Sanity says:

      Thank you. c:
      Yes, I have been moping around listening to all my favorite songs. He was an amazing and talented man. May he rest in peace.

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome, Samm! I know what you mean– I purchased the new Black Star album last Friday morning and listened to it a ton over the weekend, now it just depresses me when I play it [So I’ve been listening to older stuff, a lot of Heathen, Young Americans, Station to Station, mostly]. Do you have a favorite Bowie album?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Samm Sanity says:

        Everyone keeps telling me not the watch the Lazarus music video because it will only depress me more, but I do want to get a hold of the Black Star album. I actually do not have a favorite, I just have favorite songs. Aside from all the Labyrinth songs, my favorite song is between China Girl and Ziggy Stardust. ^u^ Both are great.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I love both of those songs as well– China Girl is actually a cover of a Iggy Pop song, but most people know the Bowie version… It would be impossible to pick a favorite album, really like Diamond Dogs, Aladdin Sane, Heathen, Reality, Station to Station, and yes, the new Black Star album as well… Most or all of them are on spotify and youtube if you ever want to try some of them out… He was a major talent and ahead of his time.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Samm Sanity says:

        I never knew that, but then again I’ve never listened to Iggy Pop, so… xD
        I really do need to listen to more of his albums, right now I’ve been content with the little chunk of songs from him that I listen to. But I do need to explore some more. c: That shall be my next mission, haha.

        Like

  2. Maybe you should make some that are black and pink striped. My daughter would love them!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Schnauzevoll says:

    Even though I am not a fan of a lot of those cyber things I have to say it can look great when someone really knows what they are doing and yes, great diy project once more and with your legs you definitely rock them! And well, my sewing machine is a bitch with furry fabrics as well, works if I add paper though (and rip it off afterwards)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Samm Sanity says:

      Most of the time I can’t be bothered to put on a whole cyber outfit, I usually wear these with just any other outfit I put together. Hehe.
      Ooh, I’ve hear of this paper trick for keeping stretchy fabrics from rolling, I didn’t know it could work with fuzzy fabric.I’ll have to try this the next time I do something with furry fabric. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

