Mother’s Day Event

Currently Listening To: “Angel” -Anna Blue

 

Hello!  So the night went decently. It was kind of rough, but I had fun. I had a few repeat customers from last year and many new ones. There were also many cute/funny/memorable things from the night. So I’m just going to get into this (it may be a long post xD)

Unfortunately my phone won’t transfer my photos, so there may not be any photos to show you guys :c
Woop! Transfer of photos happening now! >:D

IMG_1113IMG_1120IMG_1121

The event was on Friday, from 5-9 pm.
Firstly, I was not allowed to set u where I had last year because the library was going to be open. I had no problem with that. I totally understand. So I set up on one side of the entrance, out of the way, which is where the librarian had directed me to. As I was setting up, I noticed another booth going up. It was going up right at the entrance, where the librarian had wanted open so people could walk through the library since they were participating in the event this year. I knew what the booth was for and I should have expected it, but it had slipped my mind.

So earlier in the year, a good cop was shot and killed in the community. He was a great guy and I can understand the amount of support. And while I find it kind of strange/odd to make money off dead people, I’m not gonna stop ya’ll from doing what you want to do. 

So it was a booth for the dead cop. They were selling the typical things like wristbands, shirt, and the such. But anyway, I was a little irked. But the thing that really got under my skin was that the librarian had come out and saw them setting up and didn’t ask them to move. Their booth blocked the entrance, right where she wanted the library open.  So, they got to stay under the shaded, roof of the library while I burst into flames in the sun. I shit you not, my entire chest, shoulders, and lips are bright red and burned. I completely forgot sun block. >.<

IMG_1108IMG_1109IMG_1110IMG_1111IMG_1122IMG_1123

It was slow for the first couple hours, but at around 7:30 it started picking up. I did pretty well. c: I made just a smidge less than last year, but I am super happy. 😀 I sold a lot of chokers and some bows and owl neckalces. One of my food-with-faces charms sold. Unfortunately none of the shirts/akirts sold, although several people liked them 😀 Woop! 

So, some of my favorite customers/people that night. There were many :3

One was a younger girl nd her mother who had come through earlier in the night. I had turned to talk to them and the little girl’s eyes go wide and she starts asking about how I did that! She was talking about my lack of eyebrows (a hot topic it seems that night xD). Her mom then tells her no, you are not doing that, no ~ as they were walking away. I was just giggling the whole time. That little girl will grow up and shave her brows off! xD

Another one was a teenage/older girl who had passed by once when I was unable to try and draw her over. SHe was wearing a Soul Eater shirt and in my mind I’m like ~ You! You need to come to this booth. Becasue I had like 3-4 chokers inspired by that anime. Unfortunately, I was busy with another person and was unable to attract her over. Although I gave glances her way. xD
A little while later, she comes back through when everything is dead. I tell her I love her shirt and she says the same about the necklace I was wearing (Soul Eater moon). She starts looking through everything and says it’s a really hard decision. She begins telling me about how it was like when her and her friends went to a convention and all the booths and indecision. I totally understand the pain of indecision. She walks back and forth for a few minutes studying everything and decides upon a little candy charm with a screaming face(as if it were about to be eaten). She was really adorable and it makes me happy to see when people love my creations and cannot decide. 

One of my most favorite people to come up to my booth was another teenage/older girl. She told me she loved my style and everything. She was asking me about if I had an online store and if I lived in town. She got so happy when she saw the altered band shirts. I’m not sure if she knew all of them or not, but she told me she really loved Asking Alexandria and that she wished she had brought more money. 
I genuinely thought of letting her have one of the band shirts, because it was the end of the night and all they’re going to do is sit in my closet until next year, or until I get the online store set up. But she left and we both wished one another to have a nice night.

Two different adult ladies were really cool to talk to and everything. One really enjoyed Steampunk and was asking me about whether I did other Steampunk things and I showed her the jacket I had altered and told her about other endeavors I had done involving Steampunk.


The other lady that coem up was really excited about all my Victorian bows. She said it was a tough decision for her. She also noticed the binder I had setting on the table and asked if I had drawn the faery on the cover and I told her yes. She said it was really good. I told her I had some of my artwork inside if she was interested in looking through it. She  had gotten into a conversation with someone and probably didn’t hear me. But she bought a few of the bows and I just enjoyed her personality.

One of the repeat costumers I had was a teenage girl with a backpack that had bought an owl necklace last year. This year she got one of the Soul Eater inspired chokers. The thing I remember about her is her overall energy and the backpack, but also that both times she split the bill with her mother. I don’t know why this is very cute in my mind, but just something about her energy and the way she speaks is very memorable.

There was this duo of elder ladies who were very intrigued by my make-up. I had done my very favorite graveyard make-up and they wanted to know how I did it. It was very cute :3

Not only were my lack of eyebrows a hot topic, so was everyone questioning if my make-up was tattooed on. It was adorable. I’m too easily bored with make-up and too creative to permently tattoo one look onto my eyes.

The last one I want to share, is also one of my most favorite people to have come up to my booth. It was a mother and her daughter. They both liked my stuff. The mother reads my poster board Made With Faery Kisses and says we (her and her daughter) love faeries. I tell her back that I absolutely love them too. She says that’s cool, you look like one. c: 

I am so flattered! \*O*/Best compliment you could ever give me. I was beaming. That is what I strive to look like everyday of my life. She totally made my night. ^u^

 

Those were some of the best memories of the night. I cannot wait for next year. :3 Hehe. I had fun and the people were great.

Happy Mother’s Day everyone. Hope you did wonderful things for your mothers and are good to them. Have a wonder day guys. Bye!

 

~Samm Sanity

2 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Event

  1. Schnauzevoll says:

    Now that definitely sounds as if your business is on a good way, happy for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

